New Music Friday: Jessie Ware! Little Mix! The Aces! Tia Kofi! More!

 New Music Friday: Jessie Ware! Little Mix! The Aces! Tia Kofi! More!

This New Music Friday packs in plenty of familiar faces, most of them on fine form.

Firstly, Jessie Ware‘s Please – which released earlier in the week – still slaps; and is proooobably my favourite new-new song of the week at this point.

Also out though is Little Mix‘s new Saweetie-filled remix of Confetti – their first official single as a trio. It’s very strange hearing Jesy’s distinctive vocals stripped out (and she did sound fucking great on this one), but Jade, Leigh-Anne and Perrie can moooore than hold their own, and I’m really glad the era is getting another single – especially this song 🔥. The video’s out later this morning. (Side-note: some appreciation for TMS, who produced this – nine years after helming Wings, their debut!).

The ever-likeable The Aces have released a new single, Don’t Freak; and I found a nifty little midtempo bop by Lou Elliotte called Happy For Me on New Music Friday Sweden.

Billie Eilish has unveiled the first proper single from her upcoming second album. Your Power is a little…. gentler(?) than her previous hits; I’m not sure if it’s something I’d go back to but it’s a gorgeous track, and she sounds really good on it.

From one pop titan to another: Tia Kofi has released her second single, Look What You’ve Done – a collab with iconique remixers Cahill – and Hayley Kiyoko is back too, with Found My Friends. Finally we have the new Will Young song that came out earlier in the week.

Catch the rolling 2021 playlist below, or here.

Shaun Kitchener

Scriptwriter for the theatre and TV (currently Hollyoaks) and freelance entertainment ~reportage.